Week 10 Blog Post

I read an article about texting and driving. Here is the link: http://redtape.msnbc.com/2010/06/americans-overwhelmingly-think-texting-while-driving-is-dangerous-but-about-half-of-cell-phone-users-do-it-anyway-worse-yet.html

Most of what I read in the article didn’t surprise me. It is pretty typical information that many of us have heard before. The one thing that did surprise me, only at first, is that adults are the most likely to text while driving. As I said, it only surprised me for a moment. After some thought, I remembered my own driving experiences as a teenager. My hands were locked to the steering wheel and weren’t moving for anything. My phone could ring and ring, I wasn’t going to answer until I was at my destination.

Adults, on the other hand, have been driving longer and feel more confident in their abilities to handle texting and driving at the same time. I also think that texting is pretty recent obsession in the world. Children are being taught as they get older that texting and driving is not a good idea whereas the people who were already adults when the texting craze came of the world were never sat down and explained it was wrong. They hear it all the time, but it isn’t something they learned from their parents or their teachers.

As I mentioned, I would never text and drive. I don’t even answer the phone. I wait until I get where I need to go or pass the phone to someone else and tell them to answer it for me. All in all, I encourage the same when I am the passenger in someone else’s car.